Most Influential Twitter People In Real Estate

Earlier today I saw Irina Netchaev tweet about how Mike Mueller, Jeff Turner,  Jay Thompson and I were some of her “favs”, so I couldn’t help but be curious what she was referring to… Her link sent me to the type of poll that everyone loves to hate:  A popularity contest where the “community” is able to vote on who are the most important in the real estate industry.

Considering that after at least one day of the poll being live, none of the people have over 16 votes, I think it’s pretty safe to say the results are statistically meaningless and likely to remain that way.

However, it did get me thinking about an update to the 50 most influential real estate people on twitter that caused quite the stir last fall…  After publishing the list, I got to talking with Garron Selliken and Chris Lynch about how M Agents might be able to use such a tool, and so we build a web version of the process and started testing it out with some of the agents.

A couple of agents found some great uses for it including one woman who focuses on Modern Homes in Portland.  She used the tool to quickly identify and begin connecting with people relevant to her niche (i.e. modern homes) by simply identifying a few relevant people interested in the subject and then plugging them into the tool.  And in only a few months of being active on twitter, Marisa has added hundreds of relevant people to her sphere on both a national and local level.

Update to the list!

Now for the real fun… Because it’s so easy, I decided to update the list of most influential real estate people on Twitter.  There’s more discussion on updates to the list below, but without further ado, here’s the update list of the top 100 most influential real estate people on twitter:

Name Twitter Peer Rating
Robert Hahn robhahn 89%
mike simonsen mikesimonsen 88%
Todd Carpenter tcar 88%
Dustin Luther tyr 87%
Jeff Turner respres 87%
Andy Kaufman AndyKaufman 86%
Jay Thompson PhxREguy 86%
Sherry Chris BHGRE_Sherry 86%
Marc Davison 1000wattmarc 85%
Nicole Nicolay nik_nik 84%
Reggie Nicolay ReggieRPR 84%
Stefan Swanepoel Swanepoel 84%
Daniel Rothamel RealEstateZebra 83%
Derek Overbey doverbEy 83%
Drew Meyers drewmeyers 83%
Ginger Wilcox gingerw 83%
Kelley Koehler housechick 83%
David Gibbons DavidGibbons 82%
Mike Mueller MikeMueller 82%
Rudy Bachraty trulia 82%
Brad Nix bnix 81%
Teresa Boardman TBoard 81%
Joseph Ferrara jfsellsius 80%
Stacey Harmon staceyharmon 80%
Wendy Forsythe BHGRE_Wendy 80%
Eric Stegemann EricStegemann 79%
Kris Berg KrisBerg 79%
Pat Kitano pkitano 79%
Ines Hegedus-Garcia ines 78%
jeff corbett JeffX 78%
Jim Duncan JimDuncan 78%
Joel Burslem jburslem 78%
billlublin billlublin 77%
Jeff Bernheisel JBern 77%
Heather Elias LoCoHeather 76%
InmanNews InmanNews 76%
Ken Brand kenbrand 76%
Lani Rosales laniar 76%
Ardell DellaLoggia ARDELLd 75%
Brad Coy bradcoy 75%
Dale Chumbley DaleChumbley 75%
Jim Marks jimmarks 75%
Jason Sandquist JasonSandquist 74%
mlbroadcast mlbroadcast 74%
Benn Rosales BennRosales 73%
Brad C. – Dakno dakno 73%
Mariana Wagner mizzle 72%
Judy Moriarty realestatechick 72%
Maureen Francis MaureenFrancis 72%
Joel McDonald joelrunner 71%
Jonathan Washburn JonWashburn 71%
Kim Wood KimWood 71%
BHG Real Estate BHGRealEstate 70%
Chris Brogan chrisbrogan 70%
Missy Caulk missycaulk 70%
Morgan Brown morganb 70%
Paul Chaney pchaney 70%
Ricardo Bueno Ribeezie 70%
Sara Bonert sbonert 70%
BradAndersohn BradAndersohn 69%
Kristal Kraft KrisTalk 69%
Hilary Marsh hilarymarsh 68%
Kevin Tomlinson miamibeach 68%
Roost Roost 68%
Tom Ferry CoachTomFerry 68%
Kevin Boer kevinboer 67%
Sarah Cooper SarahWV 67%
Zappos.com CEO -Tony zappos 67%
Lori Bee BeeRealty 66%
Susie Blackmon SusieBlackmon 66%
Tony Longo tonylongo 66%
Bobby Carroll Dakno rewebcoach 65%
Dan Green mortgagereports 65%
Loren Nason lorennason 65%
Brian Tercero briantercero 64%
Elaine Hanson ElaineHanson 64%
Maya Sabot Paveza mayaREguru 64%
Nick Bastian RailLife 64%
Rhonda Porter mortgageporter 64%
Ted Mackel RealtorTed 64%
Bob Stewart activebob 63%
Jeremy Blanton jb140 63%
Linsey Planeta linsey 63%
Robert Luna RLuna 63%
Gahlord Dewald gahlord 62%
Gary Vaynerchuk garyvee 62%
Hal Lublin hallublin 62%
Jonathan Miller jonathanmiller 62%
Toby E. Boyce TobyBoyce 62%
Spencer Rascoff spencerrascoff 61%
cindy lin 非誠勿擾 cindylinsf 60%
Monika McGillicuddy monikamcg 60%
Todd Waller toddwaller 60%
Calie Waterhouse cwaterhouse 59%
James Shiner JamesShiner 59%
Jason Farris FresYes 59%
LaurieManny LaurieManny 59%
Rich Jacobson KitsapAgent 59%
Robert (Bob) Watson TopBrokerOC 59%
sarahbandy sarahbandy 59%

The way to think about this list is to read it something like this…  Out of the top 100 people in real estate (as determined by the number of people in real estate following them), 89 are following Rob Hahn.    In other words, instead of using a random sampling of people as most polls do, this list is created by the most influential twitter people in the industry!

One of the more interesting things about the list is that when you get down past the top 50 people, non real estate people like Tony from Zappos, Chris Brogen and Gary Vaynerchuk start showing up… It doesn’t surprise me one bit that a decent percent of the influential people in real estate are following these folks, so it makes good sense.

The weeds

In terms of the web process I developed last fall, we made one improvement when we turned it into a web app…  Instead of using the top 50 people, we made that a variable and I tend to use 100 people as the basis for relevance since the results are much more granular.   And if you missed the discussion on the algorithms used to create this list, check out this post for background.

By the way, if you work in an interesting niche and you’d like to see the most influential people in that niche, I’d happily consider running the web app and sending you the results.  Just to show you how super-simple it is, here’s what the interface looks like:

And I wish I could add a link to the URL so you could run it yourself, but it was built to only handle one process at a time, so it could get ugly if multiple people wanted to play at once.

Published by

Dustin Luther

Current lead up the team managing Brand and Influencer Engagement programs for Dun & Bradstreet. You can find me on Twitter (@tyr) or LinkedIn (DustinLuther)

6 thoughts on “Most Influential Twitter People In Real Estate”

    1. Can’t say I’m a bit surprised! You’ve been rock’n the boat and I don’t see anyone doing anything nearly as interesting on the mortgage side of real estate!

Leave a Reply